BCF Young Chef of the Year 2017 finalists revealed

20 October 2017 by
BCF Young Chef of the Year 2017 finalists revealed

The British Culinary Federation has announced its 16 finalists for Young Chef of the Year 2017.

Chefs this year come from across the sector including hotels and restaurants and colleges and include competitors from Gidleigh Park Hotel, Chagford, Devon; L'Enclume, Cartmel; Restaurant André Garrett, Cliveden House, Berkshire; The Red Lion, Stafford; University College Birmingham and North Warwickshire & Hinckley College.

The final will take place at Bonnet Kitchen at the University of Birmingham on 6 November where chefs will have two hours to produce a three-course meal highlighting British produce with at least one course including fish/shellfish.

Judges will mark: the presentation and content of submitted entry; working methods; professional techniques and culinary skills; hygiene practices; timing; quality and balance of textures and flavours and presentation of finished dishes.

The winner will be announced that evening at an awards dinner at the university.

The first prize is the David Bache Trophy, cheque for £250, invitation to winners lunch with Villeroy & Boch, winner's commemorative plate, framed certificate. Seeded entry into National Young Chef of the Year final.

Last year, Frances Attwood, from Michelin-starred Simpson's in Birmingham was named winner of the competition. Second place went to Connor Blades of the Frog restaurant in London, while Andreas Doukanaris from the Cross in Kenilworth, Warwickshire,, came third.


Luke Turner, Simpson's restaurant, Edgbaston, Birmingham
Matthew Nicholls, Cheal's of Henley, Warwickshire
Amrita Phull, Buckland Manor, Broadway, Cotswolds, Worcestershire
Monty Stonehewer, Hampton Manor, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull
Michael Topping, Harborne Kitchen, Birmingham
Callum Wood, North Warwickshire & Hinckley College
Elliot Lawn, University College Birmingham
Megan Connor, The Lewis Partnership, The Red Lion, Stafford
Christine Welz, Hambleton Hall, Oakham, Rutland
Chris Mee, L'Enclume, Cartmel, Cumbria
Rhys McCausland, The Palace of Westminster, London
Toby Hull, Gidleigh Park Hotel, Chaford, Devon
Nathan Lane, The Ritz Hotel, London
Jacob Major, Manor House Golf Club and Hotel, Castle Combe, Wiltshire
Joe Payne, Restaurant Andre Garrett, Cliveden House, Berkshire
James Toth, The Cross, Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Frances Attwood wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2016 >>

Jonathan Ferguson wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015 >>
Videos from The Caterer archives

Are you looking for a new role? See all the current hospitality vacancies available with The Caterer Jobs

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking