Jonathan Ferguson wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015

05 November 2015 by
Jonathan Ferguson wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015

Jonathan Ferguson, from Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, has been named the winner of the British Culinary Federation's Young Chef of the Year 2015.

Ferguson, who is 19 years old, beat competition from Leonidas Kattou of Simpson's Restaurant, Birmingham, who came in second; and Jack Gameson from University College Birmingham, who came third.

Ferguson also collected the event's best starter award, while best main course went to Matthew Shaw from the House of Commons, and best dessert to Mike Gray from the Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst.

The awards were presented by BCF President Peter Griffiths, at a 90-person dinner cooked by the Junior English National Team. This was the first run-through of the team's chosen menu in preparation for the Culinary World Cup in Erfurt, Germany in October 2016.

Judges this year were Eric Bruce, chef-patron at Restaurant Seven, Ironbridge; Idris Caldora, Royal Academy of Culinary Arts, chef at Adopt A School; Stuart McCloud, chef-director at Zuidam; Nick Vadis, culinary director at Compass Group UK & Ireland; and Marcus Eaves, from Oblix at the Shard, London.

The contest asked competitors to prepare a three-course meal for two, including fish in the starter and pork in the main course. The dishes also had to use at least one product from sponsors Major International, and Gourmet Classic.

Other sponsors included Beacon Design, Interfruit, and Villeroy & Boch.

Ray Steplin from the House of Commons, won the 2014 contest.

Full list of finalists
Jonathan Ferguson, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Auchterarder, Scotland - winner
Leonidas Kattou of Simpson's Restaurant, Birmingham - runner up
Jack Gameson from University College Birmingham, Birmingham - third place
Kane Adamson, Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, N Ireland
Harvey Perttola, Lasan, Birmingham
Matt Nicholls, Cheal's Restaurant, Henley-in-Arden
Richard West, Moat House Acton Trussell
Keiron Stevens, the Latymer, Pennyhill Park Hotel
Joshua Wilde, the Coach, Marlow
Samuel Lambourne, The Stafford, London
Mike Gray, Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst
Matthew Shaw, House of Commons, London
James Toth, the Cross, Kenilworth
Joseph Payne, Hartwell House Hotel, Aylesbury
Connor Godfrey, Wilton's Restaurant, London
Arthur Bridgman-Quin, Punchbowl Inn, Cumbria

The BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015 now accepting entries >>
The BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015 now accepting entries >>

BCF announced 16 finalists for Young Chef of the Year 2015 >>

*Are you looking for a new role? See all the current restaurant vacancies available with The Caterer* Jobs >>

Latest video from The Caterer

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking