Roux Scholarship 2019 launches today

05 November 2018 by
Roux Scholarship 2019 launches today

Details of the competition to find the chef who will follow in the footsteps of the likes of Andrew Fairlie, Sat Bains and André Garrett as the next Roux Scholar have been announced.

The winner of the Roux Scholarship 2019 will be given the opportunity to undertake a three-month stage at a three-Michelin-star restaurant anywhere in the world.

Founded in 1984 by brothers Michel and Albert Roux, the scholarship is open to ambitious chefs working in any establishment from a village pub to a fine-dining restaurant.

However, entrants do need to have mastered a number of key skills including filleting round and flat fish, boning all meat, preparing a ballotine and making sweet and savoury souffles. They should also be able to prepare a stuffing and mousseline and make a pastry base, emulsified sauces and braised dishes, as well capable of cooking under pressure and have "exquisite presentation skills".

Michel Roux Jr, chairman of the judges, said: "To be a Roux Scholar you need to have what it takes to reach the top, that's a given, but many will be surprised to see they have the majority of these skills in their repertoire already."

His cousin and fellow chairman Alain Roux added: "If you want to reach and stay at the top of your game, these are some of the key skills you need. Careful practice will help you master them to perfection and set you on your way to becoming a Roux Scholar."

Entries for the 2019 event open on 12 November, when the recipe ingredients for the first round will be announced. Applications, to include a written recipe, should be made via the Roux Scholarship website, Deadline for entries will be 31 January 2019.

The judges will select 18 regional finalists who will compete at two events at the University College Birmingham and University of West London. The national final will then be held on 1 April at Westminster Kingsway College, London.

The judges remain the same for the 2019 competition: Alain Roux, Michel Roux Jr, Brian Turner, Andrew Fairlie (the first scholar in 1984), Sat Bains (scholar 1999), André Garrett (scholar 2002), Simon Hulstone (scholar 2003), James Martin, Clare Smyth, Rachel Humphrey and Angela Hartnett.

Martin Carabott crowned winner of Roux Scholarship 2018 >>

Luke Selby crowned winner of Roux Scholarship 2017: "I'm speechless" >>

Roux Scholarship 2016: A dream come Roux >>

Get The Caterer every week on your smartphone, tablet, or even in good old-fashioned hard copy (or all three!).

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking