Hospitality sweethearts 14 February 2020 The couples who make working together and living together a love story
In this week's issue...Hospitality sweethearts The couples who make working together and living together a love story
Read More
Search
The Caterer

Top pub groups in the UK 2009

13 April 2010 by
Top pub groups in the UK 2009

Punch Taverns retained its lead over Enterprise Inns as the UK's largest pub group in 2009.

However, Punch only opened a net 28 new pubs to end the year with 8,428 venues, while Enterprise Inns added a net 75 pubs to bump up its estate to 7,775.

Marston's (formerly Wolverhampton & Dudley) moved up one place into the fourth position despiteshedding a net 22 outlets.

New entries to the list include Orchid Pubs and Town and City Pubs, which snapped up 161 venues in 2008 afterLaurel Pub Company went into administration.

These figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2009, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £175 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact Philippa Brady.

View the top pub groups from the 2008 report >> View the top pub groups from the 2007 report >> View the top pub groups from the 2006 report >>

LEADING PUB GROUPS IN THE UK, 2008

OwnerOutlets 2009Outlets 2008Selected brands
1Punch Taverns](http://www.punchtaverns.com/Punch)8,428 8,400
2[Enterprise Inns](http://www.enterpriseinns.com/home/home_flash.html)7,775 7,700
3[Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 2.553 2,500
4[Marston's](http://www.marstons.co.uk/) 2,250 2,272 Pitcher & Piano
5[Admiral Taverns](http://www.admiraltaverns.co.uk/)2,200 2,500
6Carlsberg and Heineken/[Scottish & Newcastle](http://www.pub-enterprises.co.uk/)[](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/)2,200 2,000
7[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/)1,133 2,000 Ember, Scream, O'Neills
8[Wellington Pub Co](http://www.wellingtonpubcompany.co.uk/)[](http://www.nestle.co.uk/Home)850 855
9[JD Wetherspoon](http://www.jdwetherspoon.co.uk/)705 689
10[Trust Inns](http://www.trustinns.co.uk/)596 612
11[Pubfolio](http://www.pubfolio.co.uk/)545 545
12[GI](http://www.gipartners.com/)/[Orchid Pubs](http://www.orchidgroup.co.uk/) 441 -
13[Frederic Robinson](http://www.fredericrobinson.co.uk/) 401 412
14[Daniel Thwaites](http://www.thwaites.co.uk/) 399 429
15[Shepherd Neame](http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/)376 371
16[Fuller, Smith & Turner](http://www.fullers.co.uk/)357 361
17Town & City Pub Company 150 - [Yates',](http://www.weareyates.co.uk/) Hogshead
Source: [Horizons FS

Continue reading

You need to create an account to read this article. It's free and only requires a few basic details.

Already subscribed?

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!