Royal Academy Culinary Arts awards 2014 semi-finalists announced

19 March 2014 by
Royal Academy Culinary Arts awards 2014 semi-finalists announced

Berners Tavern, Le Gavroche, Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons and L'Enclume are just some of the top names represented in this year's semi-finalist list from the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence 2014.

Released today, the full list (below) shows semi-finalists for the awards' three categories of kitchen, pastry and service. The Academy said that the number of entries this year had been unprecedented.

As well as the establishments above, the semi-finalists also include staff from the Connaught, Gleneagles, Cliveden House, the Dorchester, Hakkasan, Galvin La Chapelle and Claridge's.

The awards are more like an examination than a competition. All or none of the candidates entered can achieve the award, depending on their level of attainment. Anyone who reaches the required standard set by the judges will win the award.

In addition, the candidate in each category with the highest marks is respectively named the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Young Chef, Young Pastry Chef and Young Waiter 2014.

Semi-finals will take place around the country at the beginning of April.

The awards aim to recognise and encourage the most talented emerging chefs, pastry chefs and waiters. Over 480 people have achieved the award since it was launched in 1983.

Full list of semi-finalists


Rosie Angus, Coutts, The Stand
Gabor Baranyai, Road Hole Restaurant, Old Course Hotel, Fife
Adam Bateman, Restaurant Associates
Mickaël Bon, The Connaught
Jharvari Brade, Axis at One Aldwych
Liam Brandon, The Rib Room, Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Martin Carabott, Royal Automobile Club
Nathan Cornwell, Lucknam Park Hotel
Oliver Downey, Le Gavroche
Christopher Emery, Cliveden House
Samson Fernandes, Terrace Grill and Bar, Le Meridien Piccadilly
Adam Handling, Caxton Grill, St Ermin's Hotel
James Hawkes, Pennyhill Park Hotel
Quentin Helene, The Gun, Docklands
Mark Hemsley, AG's Restaurant, Alexander House Hotel
Jamie Jackson, Le Talbooth Restaurant, Colchester
Dorian Janmaat, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Oliver Jenner, Pennyhill Park Hotel
Jake Jones, Talbot Hotel, Malton
Joseph Kenehan, SixtyOne Restaurant, Upper Berkeley Street
Sarah-Jane Large, Freelance Private Cook
Jaime Llorente Moreno, Cambio de Tercio Group
Robin McCrindle, Turnberry Resort
Adam McKinnon-Brahams, The Ritz London
Chris McPhee, Alexander House Hotel
Spencer Metzger, The Ritz London
Dan Miles, Lucknam Park Hotel
Harvey Noy, Scott's, Mayfair
Jack O'Donovan, Ernst & Young, BaxterStorey
Jack O'Sullivan, The Angel Inn, Hetton
Tom Phillips, The Ritz London
Matthew Ramsdale, The Lime Kiln, Oswestry
Jack Rawlings, Coutts, The Strand
Mary Redmond, The Langham London
Barry Robertson, Turnberry Resort
Jacob Rowley, JW Steakhouse, Grosvenor Hotel
Kevin Steele, Opus Restaurant, Birmingham
Matthew Stubbs, The Bistro at Vaughan's Kitchen
Jason Tuddenham, The Arts Club, Dover Street
Daniel Tugwell, The Seagate Hotel, Devon
Paul Tyrrell, Turnberry Resort
Gareth Wayt, Opus Restaurant, Birmingham
Peter Webster, Galvin La Chapelle
Hannah Westphalen, Lexington Catering
Benjamin Williams, The Gun, Docklands
Jacqueline Wise, Freelance Executive Chef
Adam Wright, The Waterside Inn


Lauren Boyle, Le Méridien Piccadilly
Timothy Breton, The Dorchester
Michaela Brown, Marylebone Cricket Club
Abby Cass, Hakkasan Mayfair
Michael Coggan, The Gleneagles Hotel
Iceni Elmer, Julien Plumart
Richard Grasske, Hakkasan Mayfair
Courtney-Jane Gwatkin Ashurst, London
Philip Harrison, Hartwell House
Nicholas Henn, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Alice Hill, The Seafood Restaurant
Jamie Houghton, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Aisha Ibrahim, Hakkasan Mayfair
Benoit Jabouille, Pennyhill Park Hotel
Sam Leatherby, London Hilton on Park Lane
Natasha Lewis, Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Edgaras Lindinas, Hakkasan Hanway Place
Andrew MacKay, Turnberry Resort
Rhiann Mead, William Curley Pâtissier Chocolatier
Stefan Milligan, Café 21, Newcastle
Bianka Molnar, Yauatcha, London
Adeola Ogunrinde, The Arts Club, Dover Street
Marco Pagos, Yauatcha, London
Darrell Rolle-Jackson, Cliveden House
Steven Sherry, William Curley Pâtissier Chocolatier
Kae Shibata, The Ritz London
Natasha Wigmore, Bents Garden & Home
Victoria Windling-Gayton, Bachmann's Patisserie
Melissa Wood, The Gleneagles Hotel
Luke Woodward, Lucknam Park Hotel


Paul Baudriller, Strathearn Restaurant, The Gleneagles Hotel
Sandra Bein, Le Gavroche
Gary Botelho, Galvin at Windows
Julia Brandacher, Outlaw's at the Capital
Fraser Buick, Strathearn Restaurant, The Gleneagles Hotel
Enzo Buonocore, The Ritz London
Valentina Carbone, Restaurant Associates
Nancy Cardenas, Berners Tavern, The London Edition
Adam Chambers, Café 21, Newcastle
Davide Coccia, The Ritz London
Anthony Daniel, Michael Caines at Abode Manchester
Amber-Marie Delia, 1906 Restaurant, The Gleneagles Hotel
James Dougan, The Waterside Inn
Steven Driscoll, Koffmann's at The Berkeley
Marina Emms, The Arts Club, Dover Street
Robert Everard, Rudding Park, North Yorkshire
James Foster, L'Enclume, Cartmel
Stephen Garrod, Park Restaurant, Lucknam Park Hotel
Daniel Harrison, Strathearn Restaurant, The Gleneagles Hotel
Stephanie Howells, Dormy Clubhouse, The Gleneagles Hotel
Stephanie Hyslop, Ailsa Bar, Turnberry Resort
Nicolas Mandret, SixtyOne Restaurant, Upper Berkeley Street
Manuel Marchetti, Galvin at Windows
Gaia Martini, The Arts Club, Dover Street
Sanjoy Mazumdar, The Rib Room, Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Iskandar Mirhodjayev, The Rib Room, Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Nicola Mognol, Le Gavroche
Mathieu Montaudon, The Gleneagles Hotel
Louis Muller, The Ritz London
Gerald Murati, The Ritz London
Maisie Newman, Lucknam Park Hotel
Grace Parker-White, Berners Tavern, The London Edition
Stefano Parolin, The Ritz London
Nicolas Perdrier, L'Enclume, Cartmel
Armeniakos Polymeris, Lucknam Park Hotel
Daniele Quattromini, Lusso Catering
Paulo Rato, Berners Tavern, The London Edition
Mark Ross, Dormy Clubhouse, The Gleneagles Hotel
Tom Schnegg, The Ritz London
Zoe Simonneaux, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Pawel Skrzypinski, Opus Restaurant, Birmingham
Ryan Smith, Cliveden House
Doriane Stadelmann, Le Gavroche
Michael Stahl, Strathearn Restaurant, The Gleneagles Hotel
Aurélien Torresan, Le Gavroche
Theocharis Tzanavaris, Cliveden House
Wouter Van Giel, Claridge's
Brooke Vanhinsbergh, L'Enclume, Cartmel
Julia Waterkotte, Oval Restaurant, The Wellesley
Matthew Whitaker, Nut Tree Inn, Oxfordshire
Nicholas Winfield, Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons

Last chance to enter this year's Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Awards >>

Royal Academy Culinary Arts Awards 2014 open for entries >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking