Cateys 2015 shortlist revealed

28 April 2015 by
Cateys 2015 shortlist revealed

The Caterer has unveiled the shortlist for the 32nd annual Catey Awards.

Generally known as the hospitality industry's answer to the Oscars, the Cateys recognise the sector's highest flyers, strongest performers and latest emerging brands, as determined by those best placed to decide - the industry itself.

More than 140 judges, chosen on account of their expertise and industry knowledge, and past success as Catey winners themselves, met at London's Dorchester hotel last week for three days of lively debate to whittle down the nominees and produce our shortlist.

The winners will remain a closely guarded secret until they are announced at a glittering event on 7 July at London's Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott hotel.

To buy tickets for the event, email, or to explore sponsorship opportunities contact

Accessibility Award

  • Hoe Grange Holidays
  • Nottingham Belfry hotel
  • Sandcastle Waterpark

Best Employer Award - Sponsored by Amadeus

  • 45 Park Lane
  • Cubitt House
  • Georgian House
  • Jurys Inn

Best Marketing Campaign Award - Sponsored by Compass Group UK & Ireland

  • GG Hospitality
  • Red's True Barbecue
  • Shangri-La hotel

Best Use of Technology Award

  • Eden Foodservice
  • Jurys Inn
  • Wahaca

Chef Award - Sponsored by the Craft Guild of Chefs

  • Sat Bains, Restaurant Sat Bains
  • Tom Kerridge, the Hand & Flowers
  • Nathan Outlaw, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw
  • Clare Smyth, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

Education and Training Award- Sponsored by HIT Training

  • Willie McCurrach, City of Glasgow College
  • David McKown, University of Sheffield
  • TUCO (The University Caterers Organisation) Learning and Development
  • Jim Wealands, CH&Co

Foodservice Caterer Award - Sponsored by Zenith Hygiene Group

  • Wendy Bartlett, Bartlett Mitchell
  • Caroline Fry, CH&Co
  • Ronan Harte, Holroyd Howe
  • Allister Richards, Gather & Gather

Health and Nutrition Award - Sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions

  • Caroline Fry, Charlton House
  • Michael Hickman, Compass Group UK & Ireland
  • Scott Pring, Bridgwater College

Sponsored by Bunzl

  • The Langham London
  • The London Edition
  • Pennyhill Park

Hotel of the Year - Independent Award Sponsored by BSkyB

  • The Arch London
  • Gravetye Manor
  • The Torridon

Manager of the Year Award - Sponsored by JJ Food Service

  • Erick Kervaon, the Bingham
  • Chantelle Nicholson, Marcus Wareing Restaurants
  • David Taylor, Starwood Capital Group

Newcomer Award - Sponsored by ACT Clean

  • Kenny Atkinson, House of Tides
  • Andrew Du Bourg, The Elderflower restaurant
  • Richard Holmes and Benny Peverelli, Pint Shop
  • James Walters, Arabica bar and kitchen

Pub and Bar Award - Sponsored by British Institute of Innkeeping (BII)

  • Andreas Akerlund, Patrik Franzen and Marc Francis Baum, Barworks
  • Nick Parkinson, the Royal Oak, Paley Street
  • Mark Derry, the White Brasserie Company
  • Anthony Pender, the Yummy Pub Co

Public Sector Caterer Award - Sponsored by Seafish

  • Julie Barker, TUCO (The University Caterers Organisation)
  • Diana Bright, Bridgwater College
  • Mark Davies, ISS Facility Services Education

Restaurateur of the Year - Group Award - Sponsored by Bunzl

  • Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor
  • Karen Forrester, TGI Fridays
  • Mark Selby and Thomasina Miers, Wahaca

Restaurateur of the Year - Independent Award - Sponsored by Brakes

  • Roy Brett, Ondine
  • Mourad Mazouz, Sketch
  • Xavier Rousset and Agnar Sverrisson, Texture and 28°-50°
  • Karam Sethi and Jyotin Sethi, JKS Restaurants

Sustainable Business Award - Sponsored by PepsiCo

  • Lussmanns
  • Vacherin
  • Wahaca

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award - Sponsored by The Balvenie

  • Alessandro Palazzi, Dukes Bar
  • Xavier Rousset, Texture and 28°-50°
  • Ronan Sayburn, RS Wine Academy

Menu of the Year Award Sponsored by Quorn

  • To be announced

No shortlist exists for the following categories:
International Award; Special Award, sponsored by Filmbank; and the Lifetime Achievement Award

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking